Spence Children’s Anxiety Scale – Child (SCAS-Child)

The Spence Children’s Anxiety Scale – Child is a 45-item self-report scale used to assess severity of anxiety symptoms in children aged 8-15 years. The SCAS-Child assesses six domains of anxiety which constitute six subscales:

  • Separation Anxiety
  • Social Phobia
  • Obsessive Compulsive Problems
  • Panic/Agoraphobia
  • Generalised Anxiety/Overanxious Symptoms
  • Fears of Physical Injury


Spence, S.H. (1997). Structure of anxiety symptoms among children: A confirmatory factor-analytic study. Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 106(2), 280-297.


Spence, S.H. (1998). A measure of anxiety symptoms among children. Behaviour Research and Therapy, 36 (5), 545-566.

Spence, S.H., Barrett, P.M., & Turner, C.M. (2003). Psychometric properties of the Spence Children’s Anxiety Scale with young adolescents. Journal of Anxiety Disorders, 17(6), 605-625.

Spence, S.H. (n.d.). Normative sample. Accessed from: https://www.scaswebsite.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/normativesample.pdf